Our staff

Principal Lawyer and Executive Officer: Gillian Duggin

Gillian commenced as Principal Lawyer and Executive Officer at the EDO NT in January 2018. Her practice at EDO NT is focused on providing advice and representation on a wide range of environmental issues facing the Northern Territory, including mining and gas, environmental assessment processes, water and biodiversity conservation. She is committed to advocating for stronger environmental laws for the Territory.

Gillian has over 10 years of experience in environmental law and policy/law reform, both in Australia and overseas. Prior to coming to the EDO NT, Gillian has worked for the NSW Office of Environment and Heritage, EDO NSW and Allens Arthur Robinson (now Allens Linklaters). She has spent 18 months as an environmental law advisor for the government in East Timor, consulted for the United Nations Development Programme in Cambodia, and worked for a nongovernment organisation in Mongolia.

Gillian has a Bachelor of Laws (Honours) and a Bachelor of Science from the University of Sydney, and a Master of Public Administration in Environmental Science and Policy from Columbia University in New York City.

Administrative officer: Ingrid Nadjarian

Ingrid has been EDO NT’s indispensable Administrative Officer since mid-2016. Ingrid also works part time for the Northern Land Council. Prior to the EDO NT, Ingrid was the personal assistant to Chief Justice Trevor Riley in the Supreme Court. She has also been a legal secretary at the Northern Land Council and in various Darwin law firms.  


Ingrid came to the Northern Territory in 2001. She is a proud Darwin resident and generously volunteers with many non profit and community organisations including the Fannie Bay History & Heritage Society, Top End Native Plant Society, Darwin Symphony Orchestra, Helping People Achieve, Browns Mart and Fred’s Pass Rural Show.

Our management committee

Chair: Will Crawford

Will is currently the East Arnhem Regional Legal Advisor at the Northern Land Council.  Will is a passionate advocate for better environmental protections, legal education, refugee rights and access to justice.

Treasurer: Kate Bradbury 

Coming soon. 

Secretary:  Ros Vickers 

Ros is a lecturer in property and environmental law at Charles Darwin University. 

Public officer: Kirsty Howey 

Kirsty is the immediate former Chairperson of EDO NT, and is currently completing a PhD at Sydney University on the interface between Indigenous institutions, the state and development in northern Australia. She was formerly a senior legal advisor at the Northern Land Council, with a decade’s experience representing Aboriginal people in the Northern Territory. 

Member: Shar Molloy

Shar is the director of the Environment Centre Northern Territory. 

Member: Tida Nou

Tida was previously Top End Regional Coordinator, Territory Natural Resource Management in Darwin. Tida has worked in a variety of roles in the NT, most recently focused on Indigenous land and sea management and biodiversity conservation. 

Member: Alex Read

Alex is the Policy Officer for the Arid Lands Environment Centre in Alice Springs. Alex is regularly engaged in policy advocacy and research on a range of environmental fronts including mining, natural resource management, water and climate change.

Member: Gareth Lewis 

Gareth is an applied anthropologist with over 20 years of experience across Australia’s Northern Territory. He has worked primarily at the interface between indigenous peoples, governments, parks agencies, the mining industry and other developers striving to ensure that engagement with indigenous communities occurs within a framework of social justice as well as cultural and social sustainability. 

Member: Tim Dixon 

Tim is the director of the NT National Trust

© 2019 Environmental Defenders Office (NT) Inc.